An Update on Our Current Pregnancy Situation (Jan 2015)…unfortunately, labs don’t lie

I know I’ve been posting a lot lately about our struggles with primary infertility (trying to finish out the story for everyone). However, as most of you know, we are currently undergoing infertility treatments in an effort to make baby #2. Christmas Eve I found out that I was pregnant after a frozen IVF cycle. But, after several ultrasounds and repeat labs, I’m sad to say that we are having a miscarriage. Our little one decided not to stick around.

Thank you all for your kind words, prayers, and support along this journey. As I watch my beta-hcg levels fall it’s a little surreal and incredibly sad. Seeing an empty uterus on ultrasound confirmed the diagnosis and cemented the fact that our infertility journey is not yet over. When we received the news that we were pregnant it seemed too good to be true (and it was). No more stimulation cycles, no more needle pokes, no more financial planning for fertility! We were going to have another baby! Sadly, that’s not the case, at least not yet. So, I’m pulling myself up by my Hunter boot straps and gearing up for what’s to come. With two more frozen embryos left, our IVF journey continues. Maybe this next cycle will be the end of our infertility road? If not…ovarian stimulation and fresh IVF here we come!

From,

mimmd_master-logo_300px

8 thoughts on “An Update on Our Current Pregnancy Situation (Jan 2015)…unfortunately, labs don’t lie

  1. I love reading about your journey often feeling a variety of emotions an some tears too. Your honesty and vulnerability is refreshing, I am praying for you as you grieve your loss and am hopeful that your family grows soon. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. I’m so sorry. I was really, really hoping for a different outcome. Know that I am walking a very similar road with you, so you are not alone. That is fabulous that you still have two frozen embryos left. Hopefully that means that you have no more needle poking in your future! I have one frozen embryo, but right now I’m torn on whether to use that or just do another fresh cycle and go the genetic testing route. Wishing you peace and healing through this terrible time.

    • thank you! Best wishes to you as well. Our two embryos are also fairly “poor quality” in cell count and grade etc. but since my daughter came from them we have been advised to use them. Starting another fresh cycle sounds more promising, but it is also so much more expensive. And, if the frozen works it will save so much time, money, and physical energy!

  3. I’m so sorry. I hope that the next transfer goes well, and that you’re travelling OK at the moment. Give yourself a bit of time and space (as much as you can with a toddler in tow.)

  4. My prayers are with you as well. Give thanks to the Lord in every situation, he knows what its like to long for a family too. ~MW

Leave a Reply

